2014-03-12 09.16.31 

You would think that with my Irish roots from both parents – that somewhere along the way I would have learned how to cook a few Irish dishes.  Not the case – needless to say my husband was surprised when I said I never made Corn Beef and Cabbage.  But by golly I was going to make it this St. Patrick’s Day.  This is the beauty of the internet – you can find all kinds of recipes and tutorials.  

 

 

 

Corn Beef dinner

So I started with a prepared version from Costco and just followed the directions from a recipe I found on Simply Recipes by Elise. I wasn’t sure which one to cook (baked or boil) so I made both. 

 

Corn Beef & CabbageThis is the baked version which was absolutely delicious. This is the one I served to my husband the night before the dinner party.  I wanted to do a test run just in case it didn’t turn out good.  This way I could always run out to the store and buy another one before the dinner party.

2014-03-16 15.39.44 2014-03-16 15.39.49

I took the left over corn beef, added more cabbage, potatoes, carrots and threw it in the crock pot for several hours.  This is the one I served on Sunday for our St. Patrick’s Day Dinner on the porch.  Everyone said it was very delicious.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

JJ & Bobby

My very own fan club – they gave me all hands up for this dish. 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5834

 

Table all set and ready for St. Patrick’s Day Dinner with Family and Friends.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_5839

2014-03-17 12.31.54

get-attachment4

 

Cute little shamrock pasta as a side dish.

 

 

 

 

 

get-attachment2

 

And of course can’t have an Irish dinner without Potato Soup.

